Old 05-02-2009, 04:37 AM
wrxpilot
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Sep 2008
Position: B767

Jimmy,

I'm a former mech engineer turned pilot... Like you, after graduating college (2001) and starting work as an engineer, I started flying for fun and decided I liked it so much I wanted to be paid to do it. After training for about 3 years, I quit my engineering job in 2007 to go fly full time.

The fact that you are thinking about debt is good... I highly recommend you stay out of debt throughout your training process, regardless of how tempted you may be to get a loan at some point. I paid cash for my flight training as I progressed along, and I'm so glad I did that now.

As far as where to train, I would strongly recommend your flying club as long as you feel satisfied that you are receiving quality instruction. The 172SP is a nice plane, but a little pricey. If you can, try to do your training in a R model or even an old N model or something if they it. The old planes look raggedy, but they all fly the same. I didn't even use a GPS until I started flight instructing, and I'm glad it worked out that way.

Places like ATP are popular, but they are extremely expensive and the way they are setup makes them impractical for paying as your progress. Also, the aviation industry is in the tank right now, and probably will be for a couple of years. If you take a couple of years to progress through your training, your timing will probably be perfect. If you were just getting out of a place like ATP right now, or even a year from now, you'd be screwed as you just wouldn't have the experience to compete for the very few jobs that are out there right now.