Notices
Part 135 Part 135 commercial operators

Ameriflight

Search this Thread

Old 09-28-2018, 11:05 AM
New Hire

Joined APC: Sep 2018

Greetings!

I'm currently a full-time software developer and part-time CFI looking to make the switch to a full-time flying career. In my research, Ameriflight keeps coming up as a good option for where I'm at.

I've slogged through most of the recent messages in this thread, which has been incredibly helpful. I've found the answers to the majority of my questions, but I would like to get a few more details (I've been running my own software development company for 25 years, so jumping ship isn't a decision I'm taking lightly).

I have a family and would like to find something that minimizes my time away from home. From what I've read here, living near CVG would seem to give me the opportunity to do that with Ameriflight once I have enough time for the left seat. Is that an accurate conclusion or just wishful thinking? Can you count on staying at the same base for the long-term (i.e. if I don't get CVG, does it make sense to move, or suck it up and commute)?

I understand that the time I spent building to left seat time would be spent anywhere in the country. What does that schedule look like? How much time would be spent home/away from home?

Regarding training time, I think I saw that it would be six straight weeks away from home?

And speaking of training, once you reach ATP minimums, does Ameriflight have an ATP-CTP course?

Finally, what is the time commitment after training?

TIA for any info!
Old 09-28-2018, 11:31 AM
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Oct 2007
Position: single pilot cargo, turboprop

Originally Posted by markd View Post
Greetings!

I'm currently a full-time software developer and part-time CFI looking to make the switch to a full-time flying career. In my research, Ameriflight keeps coming up as a good option for where I'm at.